top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex

Psalm 142

The inscription for Psalm 142 informs us that David offered this prayer when he was in a cave, likely when he was hiding from Saul's soldiers, who were hunting him down to kill him. David was a man of God, who nonetheless experienced trial after trial. When we face the trials of this life, we may be tempted to doubt God's presence with us and care for us. David, however, models a different response for us. When the trials arise for him, he leans into God, knowing that only in God will he find the help he needs to face the trials that are before him.


O Lord, David's prayer is heavy with sorrow, as he cries: "no one notices me, no one cares for me, and no refuge is left for me" (v. 4). Yet his despairing heart is infused with hope as he turns to you, and his prayer is instantly changed. He prays: "You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living. Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low! Deliver me from my persecutors, for they are too strong for me!" (v. 5-6).


Teach us, O Lord, to face our trials in the same manner as David. Teach us to turn our self-pitying into hope-filled prayers. Knowing you, and your power and love, brings hope to our hearts. On our own we might not stand a chance, but with you all things are possible. With you there is hope for our deliverance and our salvation.


Renew our hope, O Lord, in the midst of the trials we may be facing even now. Draw us closer to you even in these times, that we might all the more find out that we do have someone who notices us, and cares for us, and offers us refuge. You, O Lord, are our refuge. Let us hide ourselves in you and in your life, that we might endure every trial and hardship and emerge with you victorious. We pray in Jesus' name, amen.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page