top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex

Psalm 73

Asaph is refreshingly honest about his struggles in Psalm 73. He faced repeated persecution for his righteousness (v.14). Meanwhile, the wicked prosper, unaffected by trouble and hardship (v.3-5, 12). Asaph confessed envying the ease of life enjoyed by the wicked (v.3), and at his lowest moments wondered aloud if his righteousness was all in vain (v.13). He experienced a turning point as he faithfully returned to the sanctuary of God for worship (v.16-17), and recalled the promises of God to bring justice to the earth (v.18-20).


Father God, you know how prone I am to wander. When I face hardship, I am prone to question your love for me. When my plans don't work out as I hoped, I wonder why you didn't come through for me. Like Asaph, I think my life should be prosperous and easy and comfortable right now...and all the time. Any inconvenience is an affront to my will, my purposes, and my plans.


Father, forgive me. Help me remember that the job of governing the universe is yours, and not mine. And help me remember that this is a good thing. One day you will bring complete and perfect justice to this world. In the meantime, you tarry, waiting so that more and more people might be saved in Jesus Christ. Let me not grow impatient with your mercy toward others, because it was only by your mercy that I have been brought into your family and forgiven of all my sins.


Like Asaph, O Lord, help us continue to seek you even in the midst of our doubts and frustrations. And just as you showed up for Asaph, continue to lead and guide us, showing us the error of our ways, showing us the right way forward, and giving us the help we need, as you always do. Like Asaph, we declare: "My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever" (v.26). Truly, Lord, it is not our strength that is our hope; you are our hope. You and you alone. And you will always be our hope, and our portion forever. All glory, honor, and praise, be yours, forever and ever, amen!



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page